About Us

About Us

A Bit About Gia

Gia Bio PhotoHi, hey, hello and welcome! My name is Gia and I am a 26-year-old intersectional feminist living in beautiful Seattle, Washington. I am in a relationship with a cis man, and together we have two cats (Tilly & Prudence) and a dog (Francis)… so, essentially, our home is a zoo. Like Kyria, I am a white, cis, heterosexual woman. I hail from a large, Italian middle-class family, and was fortunate enough to earn a Bachelor’s degree relatively debt-free. Unpacking these privileges has taken me eons (and still continues)… but so has the unpacking of my own internalized fatphobia.

I (and almost everyone else) have been taught from a young age to hate and fear the fat on my body – by peers, family, friends, ex-boyfriends, tv shows, clothing brands, magazines, weight loss companies, and (probably the trolliest, most repugnant of all) the Internet. Almost all of my life, fat has always been viewed as a negative, as one of the worst things a person can be; I learned in adolescence that, to many people, my worth was measured solely by the number on the scale – not by my intelligence, my loyalty, or my drive. Once I started to gain weight, and started to understand what the heck PCOS really is, and the effect it continues to have on my body, I discovered my people. I discovered fat positivity, and the many shapes, sizes, races, and genders that are enveloped in it. At the height of my awakening, this blog was born, and it continues to move in a direction that overflows with intersectional feminism, body love, and an I-don’t-give-a-fuck-about-your-diet attitude. Fatties and feminists everywhere, please enjoy it. Please revel in it. Please own it. This is as much your place as it is mine.

A Bit About Kyria

Kyria Bio PhotoHey all, thanks for making your way to our blog, we appreciate it! My name is Kyria (rhymes with Syria), and I’m a 26 year old married lady living in TX. My husband and I have one dog, Tanner and no children and that’s the way we like it. I like all kinds of music, truly all kinds. Top 40s, 70s, 80s, 90s, pop, rock, metal, hip hop, instrumental, acoustic, acapella, you name it, I probably like at least a handful of songs or artists from the genre. On weekends, you’ll usually find me around the house reading or wasting hours watching Netflix with my husband. Occasionally, you’ll find me having lunch with my mom or dad or going on a brunch date with friends/the hubs. I’m a homebody that’s all about family and close friends so I usually am the host. I love having people over to my house whether for a day or a week. Cooking for them and providing a safe place to sleep or hang out is something that truly makes me happy.

I’m a white, cis, heterosexual woman and that comes with a lot of privilege that I’ve spent many years digging into and unpacking. I have a long way to go but I truly strive everyday to create a better world around me for every single person. The biggest hurdle I’ve faced in life is coming to terms with having a fat body. At the lowest point in my life, I met Gia and together she and I embarked on a fat and body positivity journey that has turned us into the best of friends and far happier women than we were previously. I’d love it if you, reader, joined our family and found a home here. So welcome, take a look around and I hope you stay. You make it all worthwhile.